About us

Our vision

Devon & Torbay Music Education Hubs believe all children and young people should have the opportunity to enjoy, achieve and celebrate through music.

Our mission

We work with schools, music educators and a range of local, regional and national partner organisations to provide an inclusive, diverse and relevant music education offer for all children and young people.

What we do

As part of a network of Music Education Hubs across England, we are supported using public funding from the DfE and Arts Council England, and tasked with delivering the core and extension roles of the National Plan for Music Education and ensuring that all schools engage with the Schools Music Education Plan (SMEP). Devon & Torbay Music Education Hubs are led by Devon Education Services, part of Devon County Council.

Our values

Collaboration, Creativity, Efficiency, Equality, Excellence, Knowledge, Resilience

Our aims

  • To ensure every child and young person has equal access to music
  • To help children and young people fulfil their musical potential
  • To support all schools in delivering a broad and balanced curriculum, with music at its heart

Our team

Lewis Gibbs Head/Music Education Hub Lead for Devon & Torbay
Debbie Kent Assistant Head/Music Development Lead for Torridge, North Devon &  Mid Devon
Tom Deam Music Development Lead for Teignbridge & Torbay
Sam Massey Music Development Lead for Exeter
Paul Painter Music Development Lead for East Devon
Ben van Weede Music Development Lead for West Devon & South Hams
Charlotte Yarnley-Jones Business & Development Manager
Heidi Pike Administration & Facilities Coordinator
Jennifer Campbell Instrument Technician
Josie Denning Instrument Technician

Devon Music Education Hub Advisory Board

Tim Baker Cllr Andrew Leadbetter
Cllr Christine Channon (Chair) David Perkins
Lewis Gibbs (Hub Lead) Sarah Pickering
Tracy Hill Dame Janet Ritterman
Anne Hudson Ian Rogers
Jane Parker

Torbay Music Education Hub Advisory Board

Louise Darvid Liz Hill
Tom Deam Richard Jones (Chair)
Lewis Gibbs (Hub Lead)